running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-16 - 8:27 p.m.
    < The Goal >

    GOAL: To run the San Jose Mercury News 10K in 50 minutes.
    DEADLINE: The race is March 21, 2004



    Hey, I started the last diary with this Bright Yellow Layout and I did just fine, eh?
    Edit: Finally found a new temporary layout - you like?

    About 4 years ago, I'm not sure exactly when, it may have been 5 or 6 years ago, I ran the above race in an official time of 1 hour and 3 minutes.

    In Real Life I actually ran it in about 1 hour or a little less, as there are 10,000 entrants in that race and it took me a good three minutes just to reach the starting line after the gun went off.

    Anyway, I really believe I can do it. I just need to train.

    The last time, I only ran 6 miles at a time about once a month, and 2-3 miles several times a week - but the month or so before the race I probably only ran a couple times a week.

    I was disappointed in my time - but had the time of my life at that race. It's one of the funnest ever, with bands every mile or so, even bagpipe bands! It runs through downtown San Jose, and sooooooo many people were there cheering us on. When we ran through neighborhoods people were on their lawns cheering, a few people were even hosing us down - quite appreciated as the 9am sun warmed us up. And such a party at the end, with food, and goodie bags and of course the Race T-Shirt.

    Anyway, races are fun and this race is one of the funnest.

    So it has always been my goal to run it again and at a better time. Back then, when I was running pretty regularly I figured 50 minutes was a great time.

    Heck, I may even do better this year.

    But instead of filling up my Diary with all that running stuff, I started this new one.

    When I'm done with that race, I'll create a new goal.

    One day the goal will be about a sprint triathlon, maybe even for June 2004.

    And finally, there will be a marathon.

    But that won't be until Spring 2005.

    You job is just to cheer me on.

    Edit: Guestbook does not work yet - who knew Andrew was charging for SignMyGuestBook now??? Anyway, I'll have $2 tomorrow.
    Edit Again: HaHa Andrew, I just changed the html to point to my regular guestbook for now. $2 my ass!