running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-17 - 7:20 p.m.
    < 8 Minute Mile >

    I may have lost only 4-5 pounds, by my skirt was absolutely falling off my hips today. Totally distracting. This in-between stage sucks, my fat clothes are falling off but my thin clothes are still too small. My sweats still fit though, they *always* fit, you can always count on sweats.

    I was supposed to run 2 miles today, but I did not eat enough at lunch and was starving when I came home, I never could have concentrated on 2 entire miles. So I made dinner (sloppy joes) and decided I will run in the morning - Tuesday is supposed to be a free day.

    Anyway.

    I used my handy dandy adding machine at work today to figure out how fast a 50 minute 10K is.

    8.06 minutes a mile?????

    Jeez Louise, that is fast - at least for me. Maybe not for the runners at the front of the pack, but I have never run a race that fast, though I came close during one 5K. I think my best 5K time is a 26 or 28. But 8.06 minute miles for 6.2 miles?

    I was discouraged... for about one quadrillionth of a second. Then I decided that to make my goal, which I have set and I know I can do, I just need to work at it... I need to work my ass off, because I want to do it. And I will.

    So what it really means is that I can't just think that running 5 days a week is going to get me a 50 minute 10K. I need to TRAIN. Really really train, and seriously.

    So I will. Now, I know that skipping running today is not the way to do that, but I did learn a lesson: Don't skip on the lunch. So I'll make sure I eat enough lunch on running days and then I won't have to get up and run in the morning. Because actually, I'll NEVER skip a day I'm supposed to run. Somehow I'll get it in during that 24 hour period.

    *****

    Have you seen the MTV "Made" episode where that girl Cynthia wants to be a football player on her high school team? Well, that's my high school. Okay, I graduated, Class of 1984, so No, I don't go there NOW, but it WAS my high school. Anyway, I.Love.Made. I love it so so so so much. And really, this is what I'm doing here, eh? I'm "Making" myself into a 50 minute 10K runner. If I qualified for MTV's show I'd probably sign up. But I have enough discipline to do this myself.

    PLUS, I'll be doing my sprints on that very high school track. I can think about "Made" while I'm sprinting and horking my lungs out.

    I'm going to get the measuring tape and take my measurements, ala Curves, so I can keep track. I want to get in shape AND run that 50 minute race, heh.

    *****

    8.06 minute miles??? That would be a 24 minute 5K! A 16 minute 2 miler!

    Wow. I can't wait.