running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-19 - 9:09 p.m.
    < Pace Work at the Gym >

    2.4 miles sprints (Pace work)

    10,000lbs upper body weights

    I left work at 2pm for Parent-Teacher conferences, so I had the afternoon off. I collected the kids and told them to dress for swimming at the YMCA pool.

    We got there and suddenly they required the kids to have their own cards. I was scared that was going to cost extra money - I've brought them swimming before and there was no problem about a card - but anyway, the cards were free and they went to the pool.

    I went to the treadmill and decided to try some pace work. First I ran slowly for a mile to warm up, 4.6 mph. Then I cranked it up and ran a quarter mile at 6.2 mph - a 10 minute mile. I walked quickly (3.5mph) for 1/8 mile, cranked it up to 6.0 mph for another quarter mile, over and over, with 4 total crank ups.

    Total mileage was 2.4 miles, completed in 29 minutes 44 seconds. Which is five minutes faster than Tuesday morning, and ten minutes faster than last week.

    I am really really concerned about making my goal. Part of me knows this is acheivable, part of me worries that I've set the goal too fast.

    But the last time I ran that race I KNEW that I could have done it with more training. I KNEW that if I had trained harder I could have come close to 50 minutes. So I KNOW I can do this.

    But I know I can't just run every day and get my time down. I have to WORK. Work HARD. So I ran the hell out of that machine.

    I wanted to quit running SO BADLY. I can't tell you how badly. I ran that first mile so nicely, then thought my lungs would explode before I finished the cranked-up 1/4 mile. Gasped for life during the walk. And decided to do another 1/4 mile. Over and over, never really wanting to do one more 1/4 mile, but I kept on.

    The thing is, once I stopped and went to the bathroom, I came back to the gym and knew I probably could have forced myself to do more of them. WORK, Pischina, WORK. I am proud of what I did today, but next time I'm going to be even more strict with myself. It doesn't seem to be my legs stopping me yet, it's my lungs. So I'm going to make sure I keep up these Pace thingies, that's what will help my lungs.

    I checked on the kids, then went back to lift weights, upper body only. 10,000 pounds. For a treat, I took the kids to Jamba Juice.

    Tomorrow I have more gym time, hurray!