running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-26 - 10:52 p.m.
    < Sprints, Ugh. >

    2.3 miles, Sprints

    I had a great day off running yesterday. I was truly bored and really wanted to run, but I knew my muscles were getting strong while resting, so I stayed put.

    But today I got to do Sprints.

    Sprints kick my ass.

    I don't think I like Sprints.

    First I ran a slow mile to warm up. Then I took turns sprinting down my street (2 tenths of a mile) and then very slowly ran back up it, sprint down, run back up.

    Four times sprinting down, four times running up.

    Kicked. My. Ass.

    I really really really didn't want to keep sprinting, I wanted to stop or at LEAST slow down. But I kept the mantra from my running book in my head, "To run faster you must train fast. Run faster, train fast." Over and over.

    My goal was four times and I did it. I knew I worked hard when I got inside the house and couldn't quite walk a straight line.

    Makes me HAPPY.
    :-)

    Tomorrow will be difficult to run with Thanksgiving, I would normally run Thanksgiving morning (my FAVORITE time, you know everyone is still home in bed, except for the moms who are getting the turkey ready) but I had such a hard run tonight... But I'm going to get up and run easy anyway. Probably three loops, 2.4 miles. Just slow.

    Less than 4 months to go...