running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-12-02 - 10:14 p.m.
    < Did not run well >

    One Mile

    I finally got out the door today, and it didn't go real well.

    I did feel pretty good at first, but my legs felt kind of tight. And by the first 1/2 mile my shins and ankles were hurting.

    I don't know what the problem was today, I kept thinking of possible reasons while I was running, but couldn't come up with anything. Just chalked it up to one of those days.

    I finished the first 3/4 mile warm up, did a sprint for the second fifth of the mile, then slowly jogged back home. I needed to do sprints but didn't think my shins or ankles were up for it, and I couldn't do a long run because I have one coming up on Thursday.

    I did get out though, so I have to accept what my body could do today.

    It certainly was one of those days where the possibility of a 50 minute 10K really seemed like an *impossibility*. But I remembered that no goal is worth doing without some work, and if I could just get up and do whatever I wanted to, it wouldn't be any fun. I have to work myself into the shape I want to be in, and my body will eventually run faster as long as I keep this up.

    And of course, there's that one week ahead of schedule thing, so overall, I'm still doing fine.

    I'll get there eventually.