running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-12-04 - 10:44 p.m.
    < A Late 5 Miler >

    5 miles
    65 minutes

    I've still been trying to figure out why my running was so "off" Tuesday, I mean sometimes Off Days happen, but usually there is some reason. And there is one thing I did do different. For the last several months I've been drinking lots of water every day, and avoiding coffee except on weekends. But this week I was not only drinking a lot of coffee, but I wasn't drinking water at all. And so that's what I'm going to blame the bad run on. More water for me from now on.

    Today I had a bit of a stressful afternoon. But I did finally make it to the gym, with not much stress left inside me. I went inside and jumped on my first treadmill (I knew with the timers I would need two for today) and logged in for 45 minutes, 4.8 mph. The only problem was I forgot to log in my ID #, but no big deal, I manually logged it later.

    Anyway.

    I ran pretty well but could still feel a tightness in my ankles. Kept running though. But around 2 miles I was getting really tired, I didn't think I was going to make 5, and I wanted to stop.

    But I kept thinking about my promise to myself, and how much I wanted to do this, and my running schedule, and I remembered that in the old days when I wanted to increase mileage, I would get through that mileage even if I had to walk it.

    So I took a few minutes and instead of quitting, I walked at 3.6 mph. Only about 3 minutes, that's all it took, then I cranked it back up to 4.4, which is a really slow run, but all I cared about was getting through the distance, not the speed.

    At 45 minutes the treadmill shut off, I had run 3.4 miles (totally slow!). I jumped on the next treadmill, logged in, and ran the last 1.6 in twenty minutes.

    I know it was slow, but the long runs can be slow. I am now still one week ahead of my training schedule. I think I have a 2 miler tomorrow, an off day Saturday, and another 5 miler on Sunday.

    I'm going to do this, and because it's so hard and I'm working SO HARD, I am going to be extremely proud of myself when I complete my goal. I'm pretty excited.