running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-12-07 - 2:56 p.m.
    < Progress! >

    Five Miles, Faster

    I did not run Friday because Scott surprised me with a dinner date again. And sorry, but I'm just not going to pass those up. I'll make up the miles somehow (only 3 were scheduled anyway).

    So. Today I was on schedule for 5 miles, but I was a little concerned that it would be too hard since I did my last 5 miles just Thursday - the long runs should be a week apart.

    But I stuck to my plan. After church I dropped the kids off to Christmas Shop and I went to the gym. Made sure my bladder was completely empty, heh. And hopped onto the treadmill with my earphones.

    I walked quickly for 1/8 mile again, then knocked it up to 4.4mph. That seemed too slow, too hard to run that slow, so I upped it to 4.6. And then I just ran...

    I ran and watched a Tom Cruise bio on CNN, pretty interesting, I mean who doesn't want Tom Cruise dancing in their hallway? The clean-cut Tom Cruise, I mean, I can't stand the dirty long-haired Tom Cruise.

    Oh sorry, I got distracted.

    But I was also distracted at the gym, I just watched TV and completely forgot about running.

    I reached 3 miles at the 40 minute mark, and since the treadmill shuts off at 45 minutes I just stopped it and hopped onto the next one.

    Upped it to 4.8, ran a mile (now watching a Halle Berry bio) and for the last mile I ran all out.

    Put it to 5.0, 5.2 and up, and finally finished out at 6 mph.

    My final time was 63 minutes, faster than Thursday even though I did take two short walking breaks (mainly so I could slurp out of my water bottle without spilling).

    This has upped my confidence a little. I'm finally far enough to see progress! Even though it's just 2 minutes down, it's still progress and I have 3 months to go.

    Tomorrow I just have a 2 mile run. That seems so EASY now! After two 5-milers in a row, wow, 2 miles will just be like napping.

    But then, dum-da Dum Dum... 6 miles next Sunday. I know I can so totally do it!

    Only I'll be healthier after doing it!