running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-12-22 - 8:14 p.m.
    < Making it fun again >

    1.6 miles, Easy

    Today I had a good run. I haven't run since my last entry because of rain, Christmas Parties, shopping for the parties, etc. And running those sprints really took something out of me. I know I probably needed to warm up more before sprinting, but I really felt icky after the last time. So really, I haven't WANTED to run.

    So I decided to make a change in my training schedule. I am going to keep my long Sunday runs and follow the mileage from the old schedule, but the rest of the days I'm going to run 2-3 miles with no sprints. I really hate sprints, and they were making me hate running. It wasn't fun anymore.

    So today I took my son running with me. It was fun running with him, his long ole legs next to my short ones, he was trying not to WALK alongside me! And he's taller than me now, it wasn't like running with a kid anymore.

    Anyway, we just took off and ran twice around the block at an easy pace, and talked and laughed the whole way.

    It made it fun again.

    From past experience I know as long as I keep running every day I will improve. And with the long runs on Sunday my times should improve.

    And then, if one day I feel like doing sprints then I will. Otherwise I'm going to wait until maybe late January. Just do lots and lots and lots of fun running for awhile.

    I WILL make my goal.