running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2006-01-03 - 3:40 p.m.
    < Happy 2006 - the year we really DO something here >

    I am honestly a little surprised to see how long it's been since I've updated here, because I actually have been running and going to the gym - granted not on a regular basis, and I've gained much weight, but there have been things to post. I guess I just got distracted whenever I came here...

    Anyway, New Year: New Beginnings.

    The scale has crept and crept and crept, higher and higher and higher.

    It now says 196 (yes, POUNDS), which is a good ten pounds more than when I was nine months pregnant.

    Obviously, we cannot play around any longer. We, meaning: I.

    I re-joined the YMCA last month and have been working hard. I signed back up at FiveHundred to NoWhere. I start swimming FOR SCHOOL (meaning: FOR A GRADE!) in about three weeks. Every Saturday at 7am for 3 hours. YIKES! That's going to kill me.

    But most important, I've rescheduled my life and made the time. My school units are down from 16 last semester to 7 this semester and one of those is the swimming class. That means ever single Thursday I can go to the gym after work, I'm going to schedule the time on every Monday, and every weekend that I'm home from Aptos I can go to the gym. The weekends I am in Aptos I will run.

    196 pounds people...

    In addition, I added another line into our Relationship Contract. I promised to lose 30 pounds in six months. My total goal is 40, and I'll probably lose all 40 by June, but just in case, I wanted to have a reasonable goal here.

    I want it known that Scott had nothing to do with that line in the contract (imaginary contract, nothing is actually written down), this was all my idea. Because I am not healthy. If I'm going to live another five years I need to get back into shape. My dad was 44 when he had his heart attack and quadruple bypass surgery - that is me in five years. I don't want that. And sorry Mom and Dad, but I don't plan on joining you in Heaven any time soon.

    So therefore my job is to get started losing weight, and in return, I get my "I love you" ring. And I don't want a ring that I have to get sized down later when my fingers un-poof, so I want to lose the weight now. That's why I put it into the contract.

    It works for me.

    And now it's time for ME to work for me. My college diploma is no good to me if I'm dead. So the school units need to stay at a more manageable level to allow me to do what I need to do to get healthy and stay happy.

    Stay tuned... I'll post pictures of the ring when the time comes...