running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2006-02-03 - 9:51 a.m.
    < OOH! Foiled by the scale! >

    I went to the gym last night - I didn't really want to, I was tired, but I DID want to weigh myself because I knew I had done so well this week.

    I lost a half a pound.

    I was really disappointed. REALLY. But not discouraged. I think it's good to differentiate between those words and those feelings. I'm sad that I didn't get confirmation from the number on the scale, but I'm not about to stop what I'm doing.

    A. This week I ate half what I usually eat.

    B. I weighed myself at a different time of day than I did last week.

    C. I am working very hard at the gym and swimming starts tomorrow.

    Therefore:

    1. I know that the weight will eventually come off. Perhaps my metabolism has slowed to zero. Even so, with the workout I'm giving my body at least I KNOW my heart and lungs and all my muscles are being strengthened and are getting healthy again.

    2. At least I didn't GAIN a pound, which I did every week for three weeks before I started the diet. The weight not only stood firm but it lost a teeny tiny bit. And a move in that direction is all I ask for at this point.

    3. The very first time I joined the gym I worked my ass off for a month and never lost an ounce. Then suddenly after 30 days I dropped 10 pounds. So who knows how a body works?

    4. And the weight watchers thing has really shown me where my mistakes and misunderstandgs were. And made it clear that I cannot "reward" myself with an extra snack here and there and there and there and there just because I go to the gym. I am rewarding myself entirely too much.

    And I actually blew my WW points this week. I did it early in the week, while still learning what was what - thinking I was making healthy choices, not realizing that healthy sesame seeds and raisins in a salad can kill the diet. So there was a learning curve, but I was really good the last four days. I will be patient and see what happens next week after keeping to my 24 points a day, working out 3 days a week AND swimming.

    So. Only half a pound down, but working hard, eating less, and swimming starts tomorrow.

    Weight: 196
    BMI: 43.5 (at least that went down! Progress!)