running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2006-02-06 - 9:25 a.m.
    < Swimming accomplished >

    WHOOOOOOO, productive weekend!

    Friday I went to the gym even though I was tired, but I really wanted to weight myself again and see if it said anything different.

    It did, it said I lost another 1/2 pound, bringing me finally back to my starting point of 195. So, 3.5 pounds down now I think.

    I ran for about 15 minutes, but really I was beat, and I had swimming class in 12 hours so I decided not to push any more. I got off the treadmill and didn't even feel guilty. At least the scale had confirmed that I had lost at least a pound in the week before!

    So the next day I went to swimming class, and that's all detailed in the regular diary, but the main point for here is that I swam 30 laps which was exactly 10 times more than I expected I would be able to. And while I was able to use the kickboard whenever I thought I might drown without it, by the 27th lap my legs were pretty much done. At lap 30 the calves just said, "We quit. We're done. Good luck to you." But I was still really REALLY happy and impressed with myself with how much I had done. I really look forward to the next class, and I'm sad that there is no class this Saturday.

    So I went to Aptos and I was a little worried about keeping control of my WW points. But I actually did great and again was proud of myself. I had lunch at Eric's deli and kept to a half turkey sandwich and a cup of tomato soup. For dinner Scott wanted to go to Carpo's, which is a place famous for... fish and chips. And part of me really wanted fish and chips, and part of me said no way was I going to eat fish and chips. So I kept looking at the other offerings.... burgers.... fries.... onion rings.... fried calamari... Even my usual other option, their great salad bar was out because I knew if let loose there I would load up on cheese and sesame seeds and salad dressing and I could see a bunch of boiled eggs there...

    So. I ordered a grilled turkey burger! With no cheese! Just lots of onions and ketchup and spicy mustard, and no fries, and it really really filled me up and I was fine. I think I ended up way under my point level because of my swimming.

    Sunday was different, we are usually starving by Sunday afternoon and always have a big lunch at The Red Apple Cafe. So all morning I thought and planned about what I would have... nothing there is small, everything comes on super sized plates and is fresh and delicious. My favorites are Juevos Rancheros, their Taco Salads, and the Monte Christo Sandwich. None of that belongs on a diet. So I thought and thought, and looked up the points, and actually the Monte Christo was not going to blow my points because I had been so good all week. So that's what I ordered. Instead of the salad (which only comes with Thousand Island dressing) I had a cup of vegetable soup. And it all filled me up until dinner when I had my Lean Cuisine.

    I did go over my points, but because I had been so good all week I had PLENTY of weekly bonus points to use, and still have PLENTY left.

    So by my Thursday weigh-in I should have followed the plan to the letter, I plan to still have points left over, I'll have worked out almost every day, and there better be a weight loss showing!

    OH YEAH! At the pool there is a giant scale there, so that made me happy that I can weigh myself every Thursday evening at the gym and ever Saturday morning at the pool. Between those two different days and times of day I should have an accurate idea of the weight.

    So, as of Saturday morning:

    Weight: 195
    BMI: 42.6

    Wow, look at those numbers going down!