running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2006-02-13 - 3:24 p.m.
    < Bad Bad eating >

    Okay I did lose another pound last week (ONE pound? Why only ONE pound???) but I also had a bit of a setback, and hopefully that doesn't cancel out all my four pounds lost so far.

    I had some stress eating early last week, when my 13 year old daughter got to be a bit much for me. Then I did better, worked out hard Thursday and Friday, and then just got sick and tired of keeping track of every single damn morsel I put into my mouth.

    And so, not only did I not track what I ate this weekend, but I ate a lot, I ate bad food, and I didn't work out.

    I was so looking forward to working out with my new iPod, but I was exhausted from cleaning house while listening to it. Now that I think about it, steam cleaning the boy's bathroom probably used a lot of calories, but overall this was not a good weekend diet-wise.

    I did notice that I was a lot hungrier, AND that I wasn't drinking as much water all weekend. Early today I noticed the same thing, so I quickly got my giant cup filled with ice water and it's helped already. So I guess that old "Drink water, it will fill you up" line is really true. I've also heard that a lot of times people mistake thirst for hunger. So maybe there's something to that.

    Hopefully I didn't completely blow it (3-meat raviolis in alfredo sauce at Olive Garden? FROSTING out of the CAN??), but I'm back on the wagon today.

    I didn't eat the whole can of frosting, by the way, just a couple spoonfuls. Heh.

    In fact, I've done pretty well today. I still have ten points left (not including the flex points which I'm pretty sure I'm in the red for but like I said, I did not calculate the dreaded weekend's food yet)(for instance, the frosting).

    Instead of my yogurt and grape nuts for breakfast I had some frozen oatmeal from Trader Joes (you microwave it, you don't eat it cold) (... EW) and that was only 2 points instead of 5. I also got some Turbinado Raw Sugar which I use less of and gave me 3 less points in my coffee.

    So right there, 8 points less. Figuring out what you can eat and what kills the diet takes some practice, but I'm getting better. This is one week I'm really glad I don't weigh myself for a few days. Because I don't think I'm going to like what the scale says. But I'm still working out - no matter what the scale says, at least I know I'll be healthy. And this Saturday, swimming again.

    I did finally sit down with the Weight Watchers Cookbooks and found some really good recipes for some good sounding soups that were very very low points. Maybe I'll post some recipes later on.

    For now, it's back to work. Scott brought me a huge Valentines basket with a bear and soaps and perfume and stuff, and a big heart filled with CHOCOLATES filled with, of all things, PEANUT BUTTER. It's sitting on my desk now.

    GAAAAH. Men!

    But I'm not eating them. Not yet at least.