running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2006-02-20 - 3:31 p.m.
    < Back on track again >

    Still here and still working out.

    I stopped writing for a bit because I had really slacked off on working out and the diet - I did keep trying to veer back on the diet, but I had just gotten so damn tired of keeping track of every damn thing that went into my mouth. I stress ate a few days, and then just tried to do well without writing it all down.

    I dreaded going to the gym Thursday. So I didn't.

    But I had to go to Swimming, and I got on the scale...

    And I had lost more weight.

    Well, that was all it took to get me back on track. I swam my heart out Saturday morning (actually, until I almost threw up, and then went home and slept for THREE HOURS). Went to the gym Sunday and ran for 25 minutes, did the weight circuit twice, and did the elliptical for 25 minutes. Today I went again but had a limited amount of time, so I ran for 25 minutes, did the weight circuit once (but hard), and the elliptical for 20. Tomorrow I luck out and get to go AGAIN, and I'll get to go for a long time.

    Then I'll go Thursday for a long time, rest on Friday, and back to swimming on Saturday.

    The really exciting thing about Saturday was that my swimming had not only improved, but got better even through class.

    As for the breathing... when you have to swim 46 laps, you figure that out pretty quickly. I'm getting pretty good at it, although I did swallow a lot of air and water towards the end.

    The arms are getting, well, I'm not sure about the arms. But the legs (my strength anyway) are getting much stronger, and my lungs are getting stronger too.

    The lung part is great, not only does it help me in swimming, but it REALLY helps me even in running.

    And I felt like I was really working my muscles in my short circuit today - if I do go again tomorrow there should be some great progress.

    So I am back on the diet, and feeling great. I remember the first time I joined the gym I worked my ass off for a month and never made progress until suddenly BLAM I had lost ten pounds. It looks like that's how it's going to work now too. I'm not worried too much about the scale still because after all, it's just not possible to cut eating in half, and multiply the exercise tenfold and not see progress. So somewhere along the line I will see the numbers drop, but in the meantime I know that somehow, someway, I am getting healthier.

    I'm not running as fast or as long as I would like, so I'm keeping my hopes way down for the race on March 26, but that's still over a month away and you never know what will happen.

    Weight lost: 7 pounds

    Gym Scale: 194
    Pool Scale: 191
    BMI: 42.9%