running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2008-06-20 - 11:14 p.m.
    < Gym Day 2 >

    Today was day 2 (in a row) of going to the gym since summer vacation started. It was a later start than I had hoped, but I was reminded why it's so hard to get to the gym on summer mornings. It's so damn hot in our house the rest of the day!!! But in the morning it's cool, so who wants to leave the cool house to go sweat at the gym?

    But I knew I only had to go once to get the bug, and if I was able to keep going without interruption then I would be unstoppable.

    So yesterday morning I went, and I tried to sign up for one of their personal trainers. But their computer was down, and we know how nothing can be done in this world any more if computers aren't working, so no sign-up for me. But I went to work out anyway.

    I only did about 30 minutes on the elliptical, 2.5 miles, and then four weight stations. I was still wanting to spend more time in my house while it was cool. So that's all I did yesterday - though still, it was a lot.

    Today I went back again and was able to shell out the $480 for 12 sessions with the personal trainer. Except nothing has been arranged yet, because first you pay, then they call you to arrange the schedule. And no one has called yet. Lovely.

    So back I went to the gym anyway, set the elliptical for one hour on the cross country super-hard map, but 1) it was hard, 2) I knew I had to work 6 hours from home today and I kept counting the hours on the clock to see when I would need to start work in order to finish before the house heated up. I ended up leaving the elliptical after 35 minutes, and went straight home to start work early.

    But this is why I wanted that personal trainer. At least then I'll have someone to force me to stay for an hour because I paid a lot of money for them to do that!

    It's so much easier when it's not over 100 degrees F outside, and my house has no air conditioning, so it's just kick into survival mode.

    Since I'm not going to Aptos this weekend I'll get to go to the gym again, and I'll probably do some swimming too.

    Hopefully I'll hear from a personal trainer tomorrow, since they've already received their payment.

    Weight today: Holding at 216