running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2008-11-30 - 9:23 p.m.
    < New bikes and butt bruises >

    Interesting weekend.
    Saturday while out shopping, daughter said I look thinner. She wants Christmas presents, so take that for what it's worth. But as we walked past a shop window I saw my reflection and had to step back to look again.

    Omigod, I said, I look thinner!

    "I told you so," said daughter.

    We were out buying a bike for me, and I came home with a Diamondback Serrano 21 speed men's mountain bike. It's a little tall for me even though it's size "small" (16") and I'm sure to break my collarbone when I eventually flip over the handlebars. But it's beautiful and I love it.

    Rode less than a mile, realized I didn't have my bike-riding muscles yet and it's not like when we were kids and could ride for miles and miles and miles of freedom.

    But this morning I could hardly wait to get on again.

    But... OWWWWOWWWOWWWWOOOOWWWWWW!!! My butt bones are all bruised from the seat!

    I ignored the (severe) pain and got on anyway, and rode down to the farmers market with daughter, about 2.5 miles. Mostly downhill, easy ride. Rode home, huffed and puffed but it wasn't hard and it was definitely fun.

    This evening I felt ready to run. Yesterday was my 5 mile day, but I didn't feel up to any running after running around doing errands all day. So I hoped to do at least 3.2 today. But right as I finished 1.6 miles, right in front of my house, my ankles started burning up again. Everything else felt great, my legs, my lungs and my heart. But my ankles were killing me.

    So I reluctantly stopped. But it's probably a good idea because as soon as I got into the house and sat down my ankles felt like they were ON FIRE. I don't know why sometimes they give me problems and sometimes they don't, but hopefully the bike will make up for any exercise I lose from ankle problems.

    I don't think my clothes fit any different, but I noticed I have muscles back in my main body area. When you run a lot you do get muscles around your core, and mine are finally coming back.

    Now I just need to get rid of my butt bone bruises.