running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2009-06-23 - 10:24 p.m.
    < flip flops on my bike >

    Today I did something I don't believe I've done since I was a kid.

    I put on some short shorts and a tank top and rode my bike like the wind wearing flip flops.

    I also didn't have a helmet, which I don't condone, but I don't have one and my hair running in the wind contributed to the feeling of being a kid.

    I mapped out a 6 mile route on DailyMile, pumped up my tires and went out. The sun was already getting hot so I wasn't sure how long I would last, but it turned out just fine.

    I was not familiar with where I was going, other than being somewhat familiar with the streets. From the map I chose a road that went along the foothills, hoping it wouldn't have anything too steep and would just stay pretty flat. Well it wasn't all flat, there was one very long VERY STEEP hill that about killed me, but I did it. As I said in the blog, I just kept staring at that "NO STOPPING" sign. I actually pulled over to the curb but just before actually stopping I decided to just keep on pumping, and finally I got to the top. Even though it was straight on from there, I panted hard for quite a while trying to catch my breath. The only thing worse than trying to get up that hill was thinking about how fast I would be flying down it on the way back.

    So finally I was able to be a kid again and just ride and ride and ride, no helmet, wearing flipflops, and I was riding super fast on a slight downhill slope when I suddenly noticed a SPEEDBUMP in front of me. I had a fraction of a second to hit my brakes and veer around it without going head over bike. THAT was scary.

    I don't feel that safe riding my bike, and I don't think putting a helmet on is going to help much. I just feel so exposed, and going so fast with nothing but a metal frame between me and the road and the cars is awfully scary. In this way it is NOT like riding when I was a kid.

    Well I didn't get to do the whole 6 miles as the final road I was on was split in half by a very unpassable fence - and I actually didn't see any road beyond the fence anyway. That's what happens when you live in the foothills, I guess.

    It was okay though, it was still over five miles. I turned around and rode back, wind through my hair, sun on my shoulders and legs. I rode back past the college again and wondered if the kids driving to their summer school classes were maybe aiming for me. It sure seemed like it. But I kept going and made it home, feeling great.

    5+ miles in exactly 30 minutes.

    Then I summoned up the courage to get on that scale, that scale I haven't stepped on in 19 days, to get the truth of what happens when I stop working out for three weeks. Regardless of what the scale said, it's obvious my body is changing back to its old round self, but I was scared out of my mind to see a gain of 10 or more pounds. Talk about depression, heh.

    But I stepped on. And I had lost almost 2 pounds. Of course, I had already gained a couple pounds from my very lowest point, but this 2 pound loss put me ony 2 pounds above my lowest point. It's probably my muscle loss that is making the shape change, but the very important thing is that I only have a couple pounds to make up.

    I almost started crying, and I'm not even kidding. I just couldn't believe it.

    Wednesday is my afternoon workout day. I don't know if I'll swim at the gym, or run at the gym, or ride my bike. But I'm definitely be doing something.