running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2009-07-13 - 10:51 p.m.
    < My pseudo-LiveStrong bike ride >

    Last weekend I discovered that July 12 was the LiveStrong bike race in San Jose. There are different distances, 10 miles, 50, 65, 100 mile, and a 5K running race. I wanted to enter SO BADLY. But I would need to raise and collect $250 within a week, while also mentally and physically preparing for a bike race. I didn't think I was up for that, so I decided next year for sure. I would have done the 10 miler this time, but next year I should be able to do 50 at least. AND I plan to raise $3000 so I can be in that special whatever-it-is group that raised the most money and get special attention. Because you know, that's what motivates me. Whatever works.

    But meanwhile I couldn't stand not being able to do the race. So I decided to go to the gym the day of the race, and do 50 miles on the bike there. I laugh while typing this now, because now that Sunday has passed, I know how ABSOLUTELY INSANE that plan was. But as a friend said after, I just don't do things half-assed.

    So Sunday came and I was prepared with a CliffBar breakfast and a 24 oz water bottle filled with Gatorade. My main goal was 50 miles, but I figured I would be happy with 30. Keep in mind the most I've done at this point is 15 miles. I was more concerned with being kicked off the bike at the gym than I was with running out of steam. I seriously thought I could do 50 miles in 3.5 hours, or 30 in 2 hours. So I got in my car and headed out...

    And WHAT DO YOU KNOW! I saw bikes racing past my neighborhood!!! With bibs on their backs! I hadn't even realized the course went right past my street! and I was SO EXCITED. Contrary to my expectations for a bike race, the streets were NOT shut down, and they had to stop at the lights. I yelled GOOD LUCK and waved to all the cyclists I was passing, and they went crazy. I was so happy for them! So I stopped at a light next to some and talked through the window. A lady said they were on the 65 mile course. I told them all good luck, and that I was headed to the gym to ride in spirit with them. One man turned around to face me and said "Wanna trade places?" Again, it wasn't until later that I appreciated what he was going through.

    So I continued on to the gym with renewed motivation. I was sure that I could do 50, at the very least 30, just like all those other cyclists were. I checked in, put up my towels, got the Gatorade ready, set my HRM, and started pedaling. I pedaled and pedaled, and smiled every single time I thought of those riders out there in the race.

    OMG. Everything went really great until around mile 18. Then my ass started complaining. At mile 20 my ass was angrily launching a revolt and was refusing to play nicely. It REALLY REALLY HURT. At mile 21 my hip joints started to ache and my toes started to cramp up. I knew I was not going to make 50, I was not even going to make 30, but I might be able to pull out an even number of 25. Mile 22 the toe cramps were gone but my hips still ached and the butt pain was unbelievable. My ass had NEVER hurt so badly. The last two miles were torture. I refused to get off the bike until I had a nice round number of 25 but my face was not hiding the fact that I was in excruciating pain, I think the hip joints more than anything. Guess they've never made so many revolutions at one sitting! I pushed myself so hard. The muscles were fine, the lungs and heart were fine (the HRM was asking for a relatively low heart rate so I had to go pretty slowly), the only things that really hurt were my hips and butt. I was writhing around on the bike trying to get through those last two miles. When I finally hit 25 miles I plopped off that bike (SO CAREFULLY) and knew there would be NO gym the next day - but I definitely pushed through those last two miles harder than I have ever pushed through any other workout or race.

    I understood then what those cyclists had been feeling. Well, obviously not even close, but I don't know how you can train your butt to sit on that seat for so long. I know my gel seat is much softer than that at the gym, but WOW again, I was in so much pain. And my hip joints were throbbing. The distance wasn't a problem, it was just training those parts of my body.

    So I'm already thinking about the 65 miler next year. We'll see. I have a new triathlon book, "The Woman Triathlete" and it's an excellent book. I am SO SUPER excited to do the triathlon now. I'm going to bring my bike to Scott's this weekend so we can ride the bike route and I'll be familiar with where we're going. I am going to be as prepared as a first timer can possibly be.

    Weight: 199 and holding