running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2009-07-24 - 3:02 p.m.
    < The Bike Leg of the Tri >

    So Scott and I decided to drive and then ride the bike leg of the triathlon this weekend. I don't know now if this was a great idea or a huge mistake. Driving it was okay, once were able to interpret the dumb inaccurate course map. It seemed fine except for an exceptionally steep downhill that flies into a hairpin curve. So we decided to park and ride it.

    Let me first state that I did not have my own bike with me, my own brand new bike with the gears that work and the brand new fresh brakes. I was using Scott's autobike, this thing that shifts by itself and also, come to find out later, doesn't have the best brakes. And only one brake touching the back wheel. Also, loose handlebars. Otherwise it fit me fine (well, after we lowered the seat about a foot, haha) and I think it's probably a really great cruising around bike.

    So we got ourselves set to go, and were on a very light downslope and started off. My gears were way too low though, so while Scott took off like a shot, I practically stayed still while pedaling my ass off until the bike finally figured out it should shift. So I started off way behind. Not that big of a deal, I just wouldn't want to use the bike in a race.

    But then we came to the steeper downhills.

    OMG.

    I felt like I was back on the zip lines. Just straight FLYING downhill UNCONTROLLABLY with oh guess what: NO WAY TO STOP.

    I was FLYING so fast and had the brakes clenched as hard as I could but the bike kept going. I had NO CONTROL. I was terrified. It really was like the zip lines all over again.

    I stopped and told Scott, and he noticed the back brake which wasn't touching. He held the brakes and tried to push the bike and of course it wouldn't go, but that is NOT THE SAME THING as having all my weight on the bike pointed downhill with half it's brakes. TRUST ME, I had those brakes tight and I was still flying. I also showed him how I was clenching the handle bars so tightly that they had come loose and turned downward. Great angle for my wrists. Not. haha.

    So we set off again and came to a steeper hill. Scott shot down it without a problem and kept going, I flew like a rocket downhill and decided I had HAD ENOUGH.

    I caught up to him, called his name, and we stopped. I told him there was going to be NO MORE riding. With the zip lines I had no choice but to continue on to the end, but in this case, I had total control. We were done.

    I'm going to take my own bike next time and we'll try it again. I mean, I HAVE to get through this. We didn't even go down that hairpin turn, and it's thoroughly shot all my confidence. Also, a lot of the course was at a slight uphill, and I was really panting. Now, my adrenalin really shot up with the downhill, so that was causing my heart rate to go way up anyway, but I really need to practice this course.

    In the meantime, I'm thoroughly scared now. I had thought I was totally ready for this. But I was already uncertain about riding with a pack of cyclers, I've never done a ride with anyone before. So now I have the image of going down that hairpin turn with twenty other cyclers around me.

    BOO. It's really shaken me. I need to get over it. My professor said she would help me but I'm afraid to show her what a baby I am. But I'm going to have to because I will be too damn pissed if I come in last just because of the stupid BIKE leg.