running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2009-08-01 - 5:38 p.m.
    < 2.2 miles running, getting thinner every day >

    After my Friday �rest day� (spent recovering from a hangover) today I had a 30 minute run. It was supposed to remain in zones 1-2.

    In Aptos, I decided to run my old route along Freedom Blvd. The HRM said I needed a 35 minute workout with an HR of 135-149. I went out and felt GREAT, and was easily able to keep to a slow run. The HRM of course was beeping like crazy the whole way, but I didn�t care. It was a great speed for me and it was a nice cool day, so I just continued on, ignoring the HRM, and ran as I felt comfortable.

    I hit about the one mile mark at 15 minutes, and turned around. Then I was headed uphill and the HRM was losing its mind so I walked about 2 minutes to bring the HR from 168 down to around 149. I then continued running until I got to the last steep hill and walked up it, again with the HR in the very high 160s.

    Total distance covered: 2.2 miles in around 35 minutes.

    Got home, absolutely sweating and panting and feeling fantastic. I could have run even more � but I�m sticking with the plan. I also felt thin and energetic. Scott has mentioned several times this weekend that he can really tell the difference. As well he should as I�ve lost 23 pounds.

    I�m feeling back to my old self, even at 194 pounds. The thinner I get the more I can do and the harder I can workout, so I feel like the weight is about to start rolling off at an even higher rate.