running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-23 - 1:21 p.m.
    < Four Miles >

    4 miles
    51 minutes

    First of all, we can change that "Put-Off" run from Friday to a "Skipped" run. Saturday I woke up and got really comfy in my computer chair. I had every intention of going to the gym that afternoon, but too much stuff happened - spring cleaning (when you're in the mood to clean, you want to take advantage of it), the arrival of a donated couch, and the arrival of an adopted kitten. So, the 2 mile run was skipped. A lesson that I should do what I'm supposed to do WHEN I'm supposed to do it.

    Today was my long run, the schedule said 4 miles. I was/am pretty sure I can do 5 miles at least, but there were some problems at the gym.

    First problem: I get on the treadmill, set it for 60 minutes to make sure I have time, plug my headphones in and start running at 4.6 mph (long Sunday runs are supposed to be easy and slow). So I'm running and running, and behind me I hear:

    *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak*

    The treadmil behind me had, obviously, a squeak. A squeak that would not stop, a squeak to end all squeaks.

    *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak*

    I listened to this for 3/4 mile, then I started to go crazy. I turned my headphones up all the way. Music was blasting in my ears and still I could hear *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak* *Squeak*

    I lost it. I hit STOP as fast as I could, yanked my earphones out and ran to the back of the gym, jumped on a lone treadmill in the corner, plugged my earphones in and reset this treadmill for 35 minutes. That's all it would let me do (some are set for shorter times in case there are lines, but this gym is always empty).

    I started running again and suddenly remembered I had not checked how far or how long I had been running on the first treadmill!!!! All I know was it had to be pretty close to a mile, either right under or right over.

    I ran 3.5 miles on the 2nd treadmill very very well, moving it up to 4.8mph and then 5.0 mph. Unfortunately, as I arrived at the 3.5 mark the timer had only about 3 minutes left. I pushed the speed up to 6.0mph and ran really great for the last 1/4 mile when the timer ran out.

    I frantically tried to reset the treadmill but it wouldn't accept my ID number again, so I jumped to the NEXT treadmill (#3 now!) and put my info in, then cranked to up it to 6.6mph.

    That was way beyond my limit (for now). I lowered it to 6.4 then 6.2, then 6.0. Soon after I finished the 1/4 mile, and then just hit stop.

    If I had kept it at 6mph or slightly lower I could have gone another mile.

    Now again I'm wondering what my mileage really was on that second treadmill, did I get off at 3.75 or at 2.75?? All I know for sure is I did do 4 miles. Possibly more, but I'm going to say it was 4. A very confusing workout.
    Edit: I am able to log into my YMCA workout over the internet, and sure enough, I ran *exactly* 4 miles. So, Good for Me!

    Next time I have a long run I'm picking a treadmill that will allow me to run the entire way on ONE machine, WITHOUT any Squeaks!!!!!

    Also, I'm going to go up a week on the schedule, and next week go for 6 miles instead of 5. My muscles haven't felt that worked, I know I can do more.

    I think tomorrow is supposed to be another 2 mile run. No skipping!