running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-11-30 - 2:19 p.m.
    < Missed Plans >

    3.2 miles
    35 minutes
    Freedom Boulevard, Aptos

    Well, Thursday running just didn't work out. Tried not to beat myself up over it, it's Thanksgiving and these things happen. But Friday, I did it.

    Friday morning I got up and went to the coffeeshop with Scott, when we got home he wanted to work in his woodshop, so I told him I would run. I got changed and started out for my 3 mile loop. It was another really great cool morning, but I was running real slow. I'm not sure why, I figured maybe because it was the day after Thanksgiving and I ate too much - even though I don't think I did, but oh well. So I ran and ran, and it was a bit hard, but this time when I got to the last half mile, where the incline starts, I just kept on running. I just put my head down and stared at the road, willing my feet to keep on. Every time I would look up I could see Scott's mailbox waaaaaaaaay ahead of me, it didn't seem to be getting any closer, so I just kept my head down and ran.

    Eventually, I got there, I never stopped or walked once. I was realy proud of myself, and felt GREAT all day.

    Today I was supposed to do a 5 mile run. I mapped out the path in my car yesterday and was quite amazed at how far away I had to run. But I was ready.

    Only we woke up this morning and it was raining. I don't have wet running gear, never have. I may have to get some. It wouldn't stop raining for more than 5 minutes, and I wasn't about to start a 5 miler in sweats and a t-shirt, I'd be drenched in minutes. So I left Scott's house early this afternoon so I could go to the gym.

    The only problem, I have no willpower at the moment to get up and get over there. My home is very comfy today, and my kitties are playing, and I just don't want to go. I'm thinking about changing today's workout with Thursday's. So I could do speed work tonight and then 5 miles on Thursday at the gym. I don't have a 5 mile loop mapped out here in San Jose, that's why I need the treadmill for it.

    Sigh. Not what I planned for today, but I'll work something out.

    P.S. Scott said I "impress" him. That made me feel really good.