running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2003-12-01 - 8:18 p.m.
    < No running miles! >

    Bad News Good News

    I consider this my first failure.

    Sunday I woke up in Aptos to do my 5 mile run and it was raining. So I left early to drive to San Jose and run at my gym. Only I was too comfy in my warm sweats and did not go to the gym. Then I stayed comfy and did not do speed work either.

    It has been raining all day today. Rain is going to be a major obstacle in this. I'm going to have to keep an eye on the weather at 5am and do runs then if that ends up being my only chance.

    The first good news is, the kids agreed to help me get to the gym sometime by Wednesday so I can do my long run. They are being very supportive and catching the running bug again themselves.

    The second good news is, I finally checked my training schedule against the calendar - and I'm actually at least a week ahead of schedule. I shouldn't even be doing the 5 miler yet! Sunday should have been only 4 miles, and I already did that last Sunday!

    I'm going to run 5 miles anyway though. If I'm capable of being further ahead, then I have to. I really really really want to do this in 50 minutes.

    Lesson learned by my Failure: My running book talks about many psychological tricks you can use to trick your body on race day, tricks to help you relax etc. And I think I accidently tricked my mind in the wrong way Sunday.

    I've been wearing my really soft sweats to bed every night, and at Scott's house I wear them every evening. That's the only time I wear them, and that's what I changed into at Scott's before leaving for San Jose. I think that was my big mistake. I was sooooooo relaxed when I got home and couldn't even fathom getting up to run, unlike when I have my running sweats on. So I think my mind just figured - soft sweats = rest time.

    From now on, no soft sweats when I'm supposed to run.