running 1







  • Current Entry
  • Archives
  • Profile
  • Notes
  • Diaryland
  • 2009-06-30 - 11:37 p.m.
    < Second day at new gym >

    Today was my second day at the gym this week.

    I went to a different gym this weekend, the one that's closer to my house but which I like less because of how their weights are set up. But I decided that if I only had a short amount of time to get a workout in then maybe I should suck it up and get over to SOME gym to get things done. Both are YMCAs, which I have a membership to, so I can go to either.

    So I drove over to the closer one and realized it was actually TEN MILES closer. So I can drive 15 miles one way, or I can drive less than five miles one way. That decision was not hard. That's almost an entire gallon of gas for each trip to the gym!

    So I went this weekend and just ran on the treadmill, I did a 5K and about killed myself doing it. It took me almost 50 minutes to do around 3.27miles, but I was alternating from a 6.0 to 3.8 and back. I worked really hard and my legs really felt it when I finished - and for a few days later!!

    But it WAS hard, so I wasn't quite back into that running addiction yet. Today however I got dressed and promised myself I would get down there, and I did. Hopped on the treadmill and ran another 5K, not pushing myself so fast, I was hoping to get in 4 miles on around 4.5-4.8, but I couldn't quite do it. I ended up giving a couple bursts of 5.5 or 6.0, but ran most of it at 4.5-4.8 alternating with fast walking, and finally finished 3.36 miles in 47 minutes.

    It was still hard. But driving home I got my second wind and that great feeling that comes after a great run. That little high that makes you want to go back and do it again. And I was happy then because it's so easy to forget that it really does get easier, you just have to keep at it. I was at that easy part last month, but a month off put me back a bit. I totally forgot that it was going to get easy again.

    I guess that would be my biggest advice for anyone wanting to try an exercise program. At first, it's going to SUCK. But keep at it and it doesn't take long before it's easy and you LIKE it and it feels GOOD instead of bad.

    Tomorrow is my afternoon gym time, and with the heat like it is I would bet I'll just end up floating in my pool instead of running. But I hope/hope/hope that I'll be right back at the gym Thursday morning. Otherwise I'll totally lose everything again when I go to Aptos for the weekend.

    Keep at it!